2014 Cup Run: Round 4, Game 4

The Kings are just one win away from their second Stanley Cup! Would they take Game 4 from the Rangers and sweep the  final round?

These rhetorical questions are likely absurd since anyone reading this already knows the outcome, but such thoughts were circling through the heads of Keith, Sean, Ryan, Anthony, and Matt as you can see below in the contemporary text thread.

Today’s link: When you are starved for hockey content, sometimes you need to sneak across the border for your fix, and that is why we turn to TSN, Canada’s version of ESPN (meaning way more NHL coverage… and way less NFL). In addition to compiling all relevant hockey content coming from the Canadian Press, like this delightful story about Drew Doughty and the demise of San Jose, staff writers like Scott Cullen provide stellar game recaps.

And a bonus, since it’s mentioned by Sean in the text thread–Helene Elliott, a great hockey writer for the LA Times, penned this feature on Darryl Sutter.

______________________________________

June 11

 

[Pre-game]

 

12:41pm
Sean:
[Photo of LA Times front page with portrait of Darryl Sutter: “YES, SIR”]

lat-sp-3-darryl-sutter-20140610

 

Keith:

Why is no one talking about the fact that we are on the verge of back to back FULL season titles, tossing out that lockout shortened season?

 

Ryan:

3 straight trips to the conference finals. THREE.

 

 

12:57pm

 

Keith:

Matt, clearly you had the good luck juices flowing last game. Can you watch tonight?

 

Matt:

I will likely be an hour or so behind. Bedtime routine gets everything off track. Keith, if I get any texts about the game I’ll blame you entirely.

 

Anthony:

Got it, Matt. I won’t f___ up this time.

 

Matt:

Thanks. And like I said, if you do slip up, it’s Keith’s fault.

 

Anthony:

Oh, don’t tempt me

 

Keith:

I can see Tony’s evil grin through text message

 

 

[Game time]

 

5:16pm

 

Keith:

Y’all watching?

 

Ryan:

You bet your sweat pants.

 

Sean:
Oh you bet your squishy boots.

Watching on my phone, texting on my iPad, all while rehearsing a show. So I may be a bit behind.

 

 

6:43pm
Keith:

Eat it NYC

 

 

7:41pm

 

Ryan:

I’m a fan of our chances. Also, can Chris Kreider just not grow a beard, or is he worried about missing some “sweet pooooonanny”?

 

Keith:

Looking good.

 

Ryan:

You better not be talking about Kreider’s Van Dyke

 

Keith:

I think Kreider misinterpreted playoff beard to be scuzzy facial hair meticulously trimmed.

 

Ryan:

2-1 NY still, but with 8 mins to go we hold a 9-1 shot diff.

Reminds me of Henrique in 2012. He lost that series.

Kreider does, I mean.

We win it in LA!!!

 

Sean:
What gentlemen these Rangers are.

 

Ryan:
You can tell by Kreider’s Van Dyke.

I kinda just fell in love with Henrik Lundqvist.

 

Keith:

Exciting finish.

 

Ryan:

Definitely. Not worried about the next game.

Rangers are not gonna last regardless.

 

Keith:

So can the Rangers now stop whining about puck luck?

 

Sean:
They can just shut the f___ up and die in LA.

 

 

[Post-game]

 

8:03pm

 

Matt:

F___! Uli was pretty solid in net though.
Anthony:

Thanks a lot, I still haven’t watched the game

=D I keed, I keed

I think this game proves that when we group text, the Kings win. When we don’t….

 

Matt:

Haha exactly. I’ll make Bea watch Friday night.

 

Anthony:

Hell yeah

 

Keith:

Clearly. I blame Matt

Leave a Reply

